SOLVED FTP from outside network

Status
Not open for further replies.

squidding

Cadet
Hey everyone,

First, let me apologize in advance if I'm posting this in the wrong section of the forum. Also, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS (and anything network related), and everything I've accomplished so far has been through research, and trial/error. I've read through the documentation and I've tried to find an answer in previous forum posts here, but to no avail. I may have missed something though.

My issue is this: I've setup CIFS and shared stuff on my local network from my server with no issues. I've also setup FTP, and I can FTP files to and from my server with no issues. BUT, only from within my own network. So, I thought the solution was to setup Dynamic DNS. I made an account with freedns.afraid.org, and setup Dynamic DNS in the FreeNAS settings. I can now login to the server (and utilize FTP) using the domain I setup, BUT... Only from within the network. When I try to get into the server outside of my network in a web browser, I get an error and when I try to get in with FileZilla, it simply times out. I have port forwarding setup on my router to open port 21, as well as ports 3400 through 3500 for passive FTP connections.

Obviously, I've set something up wrong or missed something. What have I done wrong? Maybe something that I didn't setup correctly when I was initially getting the server running? My friend keeps telling me it's an issue with my subnet mask settings, but I don't understand what's wrong or what to change (if that's even the problem).

Any help will be greatly appreciated, because I can't seem to figure it out on my own. Thank you in advance for your time!

zambanini

Patron
did you setup network connection on your freenas sys correctly? make sure you setup your router as default gateway.

please post your network details (how is what connected, ip adresses, netmask and so on)

squidding

Cadet