FreeNAS to Legacy NAS data sync setup without rsync

Status
Not open for further replies.

psdynpt

Dabbler
Hello, folks, I am a FreeNAS noob. What are my NAS to NAS data sync options, if one of the NAS doesn't support rsync?

On my intranet, I have a FreeNAS and an old Thecus N5200 NAS, which doesn't support rsync, but can be an ftp/sftp server, NFS and CIFS server. The FreeNAS will be my primary file server, with the Thecus becoming a warm backup for the FreeNAS (in case the FreeNAS dies), so I will generally want to have a one-directtional data sync from the FreeNAS to the Thecus (by-directional sync would probably be also good, just in case).

What are my options? TIA

psdynpt

Dabbler
If the Thecus supports SSH you could replicate a snapshot from FreeNAS to a file on the Thecus.
Thank you, Robert. There is an optional SSH module for Thecus, but it doesn't seem to be working (my Thecus is from 2007), and I am not very well versed in Unix to fix it. Are there other popular NAS to NAS server-side options using, perhaps, Thecus' FTP or NFS server, for a multi-folder/directory file sync/copy. I am hoping that there is a more elegant option, than having to run client-side robocopy from my pc, in order to copy data from NAS1 to NAS2 ? TIA

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Are there other popular NAS to NAS server-side options using, perhaps, Thecus' FTP or NFS server, for a multi-folder/directory file sync/copy.
If the Thecus doesn't support rsync and SSH isn't working then you should look for a solution that's initiated from the Thecus side. If there's nothing doing there, you may be stuck with running a transfer from a 3rd machine.

psdynpt

Dabbler
If the Thecus doesn't support rsync and SSH isn't working then you should look for a solution that's initiated from the Thecus side. If there's nothing doing there, you may be stuck with running a transfer from a 3rd machine.