FreeNas Freezing

Status
Not open for further replies.

rayray

Cadet
I have been running FreeNas for over 5 months now and I would say my average up-time is 2-3 days. Periodically, the box will lock up and I will have to do a hard reboot gain back control.

I primarily use the CIFS service and access it from a windows box and a WD TV unit. Its seems that when I touch (move, delete, etc) a large file 4GB+ on the FreeNas share it locks up. I have been poking around some forums and there are many ideas floating around about some potential issues but nothing really concrete.

Does anyone experienced similar issues?
How can I gain more insight on what is happening inside the box to make it freeze?
Are there tools, logs, etc that can help me here?

• Version: FreeNAS-8.0-RC5-amd64
  • Motherboard: XFX GeForce 8200 Motherboard - NVIDIA GeForce 8200, Socket AM2+, MicroATX, DVI, HDMI, PCI Express 2.0, Hyrbid SLI, eSATA, RAID
  • CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor

dziring

Dabbler
I'm seeing something similar, although not identical.
I'm running 8.01-beta4-amd64.

What I saw was the system running just fine until I tried to do a large write. I was copying about 350 GB of files (averaging anywhere from 800MB to 4GB) and sometime within the first hour the copy (via CIFS) was stuck and the web interface was down. I could still ssh into the system though. I tarred and gzipped my /var/log directory, so I can provide any log files requested.

dziring

Dabbler
I have 5GB in the system, and a 4 disk RAIDz1 configuration.
The CIFS share is still visible after I abort the copy, and I can view files, but the web interface is down.

*EDIT*
Looking at my message log, it looks like I ran out of swap space. Since I was trying to be adventurous and ran transmission as a daemon, I'm going to re-flash my USB drive and see if the problem repeats absent that additional application.

rayray

Cadet
Upgraded to 8.0 and still have the same issue