FreeNAS + ddns + ftp = I'm lost

Status
Not open for further replies.

HellaSancho

Dabbler
Hey All,

I'm not finding a concise guide or discussion walking through this process so...

I'm VERY new to networking in general and I'm attempting to setup an FTP server to be accessed outside of my local network. I have a general idea of what I need to do to get this done but I'm getting a bit lost in a slew of failed attempts... So here's where I am:

I set up my shared volume on my local network. All's well there. I then set up an ftp server in freenas which works fine via my LAN. I now want to be able to access my ftp server outside of the network through a domain I have obtained from no-ip.

Questions:

How do I go about doing this? What IP address do I give no-ip as a host? What ports do I forward to allow traffic between my FTP server and the outside world? How do I setup freenas to update the host IP no-ip uses to point to my ftp server?

Thanks for any help!

(PS: I'm trying to keep hardware agnostic if possible to increase the usefulness of this discussion)

cyberjock

Inactive Account
This isn't a noob question.. this is an off-topic question. Someone should move the thread.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
The admins will move it.

praecorloth

Contributor
Here's a place to start reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Transfer_Protocol#NAT_and_firewall_traversal

This section won't hand you the answer, but it should give you all of the terms that you need to successfully start researching your problem. If your run in to more brick walls, you can go here for a wide variety of support, from very general, to fairly specific.

http://arstechnica.com

Their forum is very active, and very friendly assuming you've done some leg work and can give a clear explanation of what you're trying to do. Which it looks like you can. Also,

I have a general idea of what I need to do to get this done but I'm getting a bit lost in a slew of failed attempts.