FreeNAS CPUs & ESXi

EponymousOne

Dabbler
Hi,

FreeNAS newbie here.

I have ESXi Version 6.7-U2.

I've got a new VM with Freenas 11.2-U5 as the Guest OS.

With the system powered OFF, is it safe to increase the number of CPUs (to say 2) and then maybe at a later date decrease the number back to 1?

(Note: I'm *not* wanting to do hot-adding which isn't supported on FreeBSD 11 anyway).

I've been reading as much documentation on vCPUs and FreeNAS as I could find and I still can't find a conclusive answer to this.

I know that earlier versions of ESXi used to have a warning that changing the number of CPUs, after Guest OS install, can cause things to become unstable; that concerned me.

Would I be better off re-creating the VM from scratch and re-installing FreeNAS with the CPU count already set to 2 or would this just be wasted time? It would take a lot of effort to do this so I'd rather avoid it if possible.

Regards.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
It should be fine, but you may find your FreeNAS performs terribly under load.

EponymousOne

Dabbler
Thanks for the quick reply!

I should have mentioned I have a quad-core Xeon as well - but you probably guessed that :)

So to expand on your answer, do you mean my FreeNAS will perform terribly under load due to increasing from 1 to 2 CPUs - does it work better with just 1 CPU normally? Or did you mean leaving it at 1 will make it perform worse in the long run?

Or did you mean just generally it will perform poorly in ESXi compared to a bare-metal install? :)

Regards.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Sorry, I wasn't clear. A single-core FreeNAS will suffer from contention between the kernel ZFS and userland protocols. Don't forget that ZFS performs the tasks of a conventional hardware RAID inside the kernel, and usually does tasks such as compression as well. And then has to run protocols and all that. Don't starve your NAS for CPU.