FreeNAS Backup Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

marocas

Cadet
I everyone!

Im an manager and I have almost 7tb of very important and critical information in Synology NAS with 2 8Tb Seagate NAS (before Ironwolf brand name) in RAID 1

Now Im looking to build a Backup Server with FreeNAS that make backup of my synology and snapshots of my servers.

I have an old machine with these specs:

Mobo - Tyan S7012
CPU - 2xXeon E5620
Memory - 48Gb DDR3-1066 ECC
Drives - 2xSeagate NAS 4Tb (from my old configuration of Synology NAS), 1 8gb kingston USB stick for the FreeNAS to run

Now, my questions...

I read somewhere that 2 CPU its not a good configuration for FreeNAS is this true?

The mobo have only 6 SATA2-3Gbps, so I need an HBA Card, please help me choosing one.

I was thinking in buy 2 8tb Seagate Archive Drives for inicial backup of my Synology NAS and buy more of these drives as needed/as I have money to buy it. I read that this drives are not good, but they are quite cheap and for my purpose they wont going to have a lot of usage, its just to write and write overagain and just in case of need I am going to read the backup's

I also read that the ZFS file system need 1gb of RAM for each terabyte of disk size, is this true? Im I going to be limited to 48 tb? Just because if I want to have multiple backups of the same file (from different dates) I will consume a little more space them the real usage file server .

Another think, I took like 10 years to create 1tb of files, them I bought the Synology NAS with 4 tb of storage, that I filled in less than 3 years, now, one year latter Im with almost 7tb, so the usage will probably grow up fast...

I read that the drive for the OS should have at least 32Gb, Im using an 8Gb USB stick, is that bad?

danb35

Hall of Famer
I read somewhere that 2 CPU its not a good configuration for FreeNAS is this true?
Not at all; FreeNAS works just fine on multi-processors.