FreeNAS and x552 SFP+ via ESXi Pass-though

Status
Not open for further replies.

zey

Explorer
So I've done some research and haven't exactly found my issue. However I have found some starting about a year ago with Intel's x552 SFP+ on FreeNAS as a VM on ESXi. I'm looking for some input.

I've set the interface to pass-through to the FreeNAS VM but I don't see it as an option after it boots. I do see it while booting but I'm fairly new to FreeNAS.

Last edited:

bigphil

Patron
Are you trying to use SR-IOV or passthrough of the entire network controller? If attempting to use SR-IOV, you'll likely need to build the newest driver from Intel, here, to get it to work correctly...or you've configured something wrong (like you enabled the device for PCI passthrough, but never added it as a PCI device to the VM). SR-IOV would be the way to go though...assuming all of your hardware supports it.

Reactions: zey

zey

Explorer
Are you trying to use SR-IOV or passthrough of the entire network controller? If attempting to use SR-IOV, you'll likely need to build the newest driver from Intel, here, to get it to work correctly...or you've configured something wrong (like you enabled the device for PCI passthrough, but never added it as a PCI device to the VM). SR-IOV would be the way to go though...assuming all of your hardware supports it.

I'm new to pass-through. All I did was enable it from the hardware tab. How would I go about using SR-IOV?

BTW, I'm using a Supermicro X10SDV-7TP4F

bigphil

Patron