FreeNAS 8 Drawbacks or User Errors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DoS

Cadet
I'm sure this post is going to irritate those anal users who need posts topics in specific forums. But after searching the thread I think this is probably the best place to put it...

I have many years of experience dealing with enterprise class SAN/NAS devices & deployments in data centers, disaster recover & virtual environments, etc. I have recently started looking to the "Open NAS" arena to see how they stack up. I have been playing with some various solutions and picking them apart and rejecting them for their apparent or not so apparent downfalls.

I find myself coming back to FreeNAS, as it seems to be on the right track with some of the right ideas on how to implement a robust NAS/SAN. The problem I am having is despite the type of deployment, wether its a virtual appliance or bare metal install on enterprise class hardware the performance seems to just be weak link in the chain. We have setup a couple FreeNAS labs in a mixed VMware environments with both iSCSI & NFS. Despite the various configurations we find the I/O is atrocious to say the least. Copying a 5GB .vmdk that was thin provisioned down to 1.5GB took 15 minutes to copy from one FreeNAS box to another. and approximately 12 minutes from an ESX SCSI DAS storage to a FreeNAS box both with iSCSI & NFS.

(Lab Setup - FreeNAS boxes are installed on various HP ProLiant servers with SmartArray controllers with 6 drives & 8+GB of RAM, ZFS RAID-Z Pools. ESX boxes are on like hardware with either 8 or 12GB of RAM on x64 hardware, SAS/SATA RAID controllers, 1GbE Networking)