Failover in the event of a disk controller or NIC failure

Status
Not open for further replies.

jthompson

Cadet
I am looking to setup a small SAN for the company I work for. I’m pretty new to the whole SAN concept, but, I’ve been doing a lot of reading.

Briefly, my needs would be:
-Around 2 TB of fast disk storage (probably SAS disks)
-At least double that for backup, etc. (SATA disks)
-To use 10GbE iSCSI targets
-A way to create slower simple storage for Macs and Windows Clients

It seems from what I’ve read so far about FreeNAS is that I can do the following:

-Build a box with one disk controller, one 10GbE NIC, add my disks, create some RAID z2 pools and serve them up over 10GbE iSCSI, CIFS, AFP, etc.

My concern is that if I start putting 8 or more servers on this box, how do I handle a disk controller or NIC failure.

My question is:
Does FreeNAS support automatic failover if one disk controller fails or if one NIC fails?

IF the answer is yes… Then, what kind of crazy hardware would I use to achieve such grandiose reliability?

Maybe something like?
http://www.supermicro.com/products/system/3U/6036/SYS-6036ST-6LR.cfm

I’m not looking for something for nothing…
And I realize that since its commercial, I may end up paying for something like NexantaStor.

I just like to use open source (and buy support when needed) and support the community because I believe *nix, bsd, gets the job done.

Any answers are appreciated.

Al562

Dabbler
Hi Jthompson,

Does FreeNAS support automatic failover if one disk controller fails or if one NIC fails?
To the best of my knowledge FreeNAS does not currently support this type of redundancy. If I am mistaken I'm sure someone better informed will correct me.

Regards,
Al