First Real FreeNAS Build. Have Some Questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

capn783

Cadet
Hello everyone. I have a small home lab/home server environment in my house. I am kind of new to FreeNAS. I have it running on a microserver right now but as a backup server. Here are some images of what I am currently running. Basically, I am running out of space on the FreeNAS box so I decided since I am going to have to spend money anyway that I will do it right this time and migrate my DAS storage to a new FreeNAS storage server.

I am planning on purchasing a Dell R510 Gen II. Specs will be:

CPU: 2x Xeon X5675 3.06Ghz or 2x Xeon 5560 2.80Ghz (Not sure if the extra money for the 12-core is worth it/necessary)

RAM: 32 or 64GB DDR3 RAM 10600R

CONTROLLER CARD: H200 and I will have to watch a guide on how to flash it

HDDs: Going to use NAS drives. Was looking at WD Reds 3 or 4TB. Think I am going to need 10 but that’s part of one of my questions.

So this server will be my main storage array. It will be serving media for Plex and direct playback through shares. It will be hosting home folders for AD users (less than 10 users). It will also just be storing general data (application installs, drivers, music, etc. etc.) I have a few questions:

1. How does this build look? Should I spring for the higher core and RAM setup or am I overkilling it? Also, the R510 has two onboard Gbit NICS. Will that suffice or should I put in a Quad NIC card?