First NAS System

SearchEngine27

Dabbler
So I took a look at the PDF for "FreeNAS Community Hardware Guide" to get me started, and I came up with a list of things to buy, but I must admit I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to hardware (and in the case of NAS, software as well). And seeing as how expensive this whole endeavor is turning out to be, I was hoping anyone could give me a second opinion before I dive in, wallet first.

My usecase is mostly media servicing - I have a hard drive full of movies and TV shows right now that I've backed up onto a single drive, which comes in handy instead of swapping around DVDs all the time, and if a DVD gets scratched or I lose it then no big deal because I have it saved anyway. I'd like to host this on a NAS for two reasons. Firstly, the collection grows the longer I'm alive. And secondly, the system I host this on is a bit older, and I'd like some redundancy in case the single drive all this is on fails, so I don't have to spend a good month re-backing up all the data on it if it does.

I thought I could repurpose the media machine I'm currently using, with a few hardware upgrades (mostly drives), but the guide kind of indicates that's a terrible idea. But on that note, the Amazon shopping cart I've assembled has a hefty price tag now, and I'd like to avoid the hassle of negotiating a return just because I didn't buy the right hardware. Any help would be appreciated.

The only thing Ive absolutely settled on, is essentially the drives themselves:
- WD Red 4TB NAS Hard Drive - 5400 RPM Class, SATA 6 Gb/s, 64 MB Cache, 3.5" - WD40EFRX
- RELPER 6pcs SATA III 6.0 Gbps Cable with Locking Latch (blue)
And, to suit my purposes, I was thinking 6 drives in total - 4 for capacity and speed, and 2 for data redundancy.