First experience with FreeNas - Boots off USB and then crashes and reloads.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Floyd

Dabbler
Hey guys,

First off , I'm new to FreeNAS so please be gentle. Also I'm using slightly older hardware (but not ancient) and my intention for now is to use UFS not ZFS.

Here is my set up.

• I have 4 1TB drives (two brand new WD Reds, and two older WD Greens)
  • I have 6 gigs of DDR2 Ram (2 x 2gb dimms, 2 x 1gb dimms). All set up in dual channels
  • My motherboard is an ASUS M2R32-MVP (it has four SATA channels on it, and Marvel 88E8001 Gigabit LAN adapater on board)
  • Video card is a Nvidia Quadro FX 1700 (512 mb -- this machine used to be used for 3D modeling)
  • The processor is a AMD Athlon 64 x2 +6000
  • Power supply is a 500w (I don't know the brand)
  • And i'm using an 8gig USB for the OS
So I downloaded the 9.2.1.4 and burned it to a DVD. I then boot off that and install the OS on the USB drive. (So far so good) Then when I boot off the USB, the OS loads and gets as far as obtaining an IP address from my network. I see that part working, but the next parts a blur because, as soon as that finishes it begins to run some other commands (start up some services I guess), but then the screen goes black and the machine just reboots. It will just keep doing this.

So far I've tried a couple different things. In cluding swamping out the USB Drive, Turning off AHCI in the bios (i'm not sure I'll need it right now any way) and upgrading to 9.2.1.5 (made no difference).

Any help here would be appreciated. Is my hardware not compatible or too old? Also how does one trouble shoot something like this?

Thanks so much in advance,

Floyd

Starpulkka

Contributor
Have you tried older freenas like as freenas 8 does it boot?

Well.. if you must play... (as on side note, machine what uses ddr2 memory its old machine, ddr4 its making its way).