Extend Volume from the same disk

Status
Not open for further replies.

pete748

Dabbler
Evening Folks,

Please don't hate on me to much I'm really new at this. How on earth do I extend a volume from the same disk?

So long volume was running out of space so I gave the disk more space using VMware and rebooted my FreeNAS box.

FreeNAS can now see the extra space that belongs to the disk however I cant figure out however to extend volume 1 into it.

Any help will be appreciated.

upload_2017-11-14_21-28-31.png

upload_2017-11-14_21-29-39.png

Last edited by a moderator:

nojohnny101

Wizard
Please don't hate on me to much I'm really new at this. How on earth do I extend a volume from the same disk?

No ones going to hate you. These forums are pretty friendly compared to most and people are here because they either want to learn or help, so if you fall into one of those categories then you're good.

I'm not sure exactly what you want to do. Maybe you are getting terminology mixed up. A pool is made up of vdevs. Once you create a pool, you expand it by creating vdevs, which are made up of disks. Once you create vdevs, you can't "expand them", which means you can't add more disks to it (with a few exceptions).

Maybe can you explain a bit more what you want to accomplish?

pete748

Dabbler
Hey buddy,

Thank you for the reply. Sorry I'm a windows server guy wanting to learn FreeNAS.

So my FreeNAS box sits on VMware, I've attached a screen shot of the config.

I got an alert on FreeNAS saying "The capacity for the volume 'Volume1' is currently at 82%, while the recommended value is below 80%."

So I'm like sweet I'll just extend/grow the volume. I give Hard disk 2 on VMware an extra 100GB, it was 200GB.

upload_2017-11-14_21-44-49.png

I log into FreeNAS to view the disk and its picked up the extra 100GB after a reboot which is cool.

upload_2017-11-14_21-46-12.png