SOLVED "Export Read Only" Samba-share can still be altered?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris_S

Cadet
Hi, I have a Samba share set with the "Export Read Only" option to prevent changes. It was my understanding, that this setting is supposed to override individual user rights and create a read-only share of a given dataset.

However, I can still create new files and delete existing files in all subfolders of that share from a windows client logged in as the owner of the dataset.

The only things I found to be genuinely protected in this setting were:
- Folders residing in the root directory of the "read-only" share (which cannot be deleted)
- The content of existing files, even in subfolders (which cannot be changed)

I can however easily:
- Delete all existing folders and files in all subfolders within that "read-only" share
- Create new files and change them within subfolders of that "read-only" share

Did I just misunderstand the concept of "Export Read Only"? Is it not recursively applied to subfolders of a share? Are my observations expected behaviour? Does that mean, that the only way to REALLY achieve a read-only share is to remove writing rights of the dataset owner?

I'd be happy for any help!

Chris_S

Cadet
Thank you for your support! Based on your post that suggested that my observation was not expected behavior, I recreated the whole volume (destroyed all data) and its dataset, then recreated the samba share, again setting "Export Read Only" and this time also disabling "Apply Default Permissions" (although I can't be sure if this did the trick).

In any case, the share is now behaving as expected with all subdirectories and files protected as well. Sorry I cannot be of any help in clarifying what initially caused my bug, but trying to reproduce it from scratch seemed to be the right thing to do once I knew it was not expected behavior.

All the best!

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems