Deleting files from storage Permission issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

ify

Dabbler
Hello kind community... I am having an issue, Nas was working just fine 2 days ago, now I am unable delete files from my storage, I believe I am using CFIS and NFS services are active I have my drives mounted I can see the folders on my windows and mac computer, but I am unable to delete files.

Windows tells me that I require permission from unix user\root to make changes to this folder.

I am running version FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE

Can anyone help I am still a newbie at this.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Well for starters, you haven't provided any relevant information.

I can only assume you are having issues with CIFS but since even you don't know how you're accessing the share, we really don't know your setup.

What have you changed in the last 2 days?

Also, waiting 2 hours to bump your own post is considered bad forum etiquette. Please don't bump your threads so soon.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
rm -r /path/to/file/to/delete

ify

Dabbler
Well for starters, you haven't provided any relevant information.

I can only assume you are having issues with CIFS but since even you don't know how you're accessing the share, we really don't know your setup.

What have you changed in the last 2 days?

Also, waiting 2 hours to bump your own post is considered bad forum etiquette. Please don't bump your threads so soon.

I'm sorry, I really haven't changed anything, by the way I reinstalled freenas to see if issue is fixed but no go... I get error you need permission from unix user\media to make changes

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
There's probably a thousand+ threads on this forum dealing with permissions on CIFS shares....have you tried reading any of them? Or the official documentation?

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
yes I have none have helped.
Out of reading all that information none of it has helped?