DEAD Freenas sys drive HELP???

Status
Not open for further replies.

LedaOhio

Cadet
Newbie here...

I have a friend and he lost his freenas system drive. He knows nothing about the version/system etc..

Not having used freenas in YEARS and After a Cram Session last night and this morning refreshing my knowledge a bit... And running freenas on VMware and a clean setup on a DX/4 box I have... My Question is...

I've installed the latest freenas on a usb stick and am wondering if it will recognize the 6 HD's he has installed in the box minus the freenas sys drive that died?

In Volume Manager.. Which should I select "IF" this new freenas USB I have loads up and does not know what the "old drives" are set to (Mirror. Stripe, Raid-Z/Z2)?

I just don't want to be fumbling around with it in front of him and like to be prepared best I can.

Thank you in advance.
LedaOhio

warri

Guru
FreeNAS 8 usually does not support installation on a drive, so maybe the old installation was actually Freenas 0.7?
If you are lucky, autoimporting the drives works from the FreeNAS 8 GUI - that's the first thing I would try. If auto import fails, you'll have to see if you can import something via CLI.

Do you know which file system he used? ZFS or UFS?

LedaOhio

Cadet
FreeNAS 8 usually does not support installation on a drive, so maybe the old installation was actually Freenas 0.7?
If you are lucky, autoimporting the drives works from the FreeNAS 8 GUI - that's the first thing I would try. If auto import fails, you'll have to see if you can import something via CLI.

Do you know which file system he used? ZFS or UFS?

No idea nor does he.. I was over there a few days ago long enough to see his NAS system and build his new Win7 system for him.
I tried to boot it and it failed.
It was getting late and he had to leave town a few days. Now he is back and wanting his NAS drive replaced. I did not even check if the NAS box has USB or if BIOS allows USB boot. So, I have v/8.3 on USB and a ROM.