Reinstalling freenas without a mirror boot

titinho

Cadet
So Im kinda new to freenas, but i manged to set up a server for a friend of mine like a year ago, last week he called a guy to solve some issues he was having, because i wasnt in the city at that moment. This guy told him that he should use windows server and formatted the OS drive and installed windows and delted the freenas installation.
Basically my question is, how do i revert it back, i have installed freenas on the boot drive, but i dont know how to add the previous pool.
Hope you guys can help me out, im new to this and im afraid to delete his data.

HW Specs:
Asrock z170 extreme 6
Intel i5 8400
16GB DDR4
4xSeagate 4tb drives
1xKingston SSD for boot

Im using Freenas 11.2-u4.1

Last edited:
Hi @titinho. Would you mind editing your post to contain the version of FreeNAS you're using and all of the relevant hardware specs? Check out the Forum Rules for information on this or my signature for an example. The reason is that it helps folks provide better answers in case something is relevant. It may be that lots of the details are not relevant to your specific issue, but it can't hurt to be descriptive. :)

Did your friend keep a copy of their system config? If so, you can follow the instructions in the User Guide to upload the system config and get the data back that way. Be sure you use the guide which matches your version of FreeNAS.

Otherwise, you may have success trying the import pool functionality. If the drives were not encrypted that should be relatively straight forward. If they were encrypted you will need the encryption key.