CRITICAL: The volume Volume2 (ZFS) status is DEGRADED help

Status
Not open for further replies.

AirNewZealand15

Dabbler
Hello

I have been using FreeNas for about 6 months now and have just been alerted to: CRITICAL: The volume Volume2 (ZFS) status is DEGRADED.

What is the best way to rebuild my raid array? I don't believe the drive(s) are faulty.

Any instructions would be much appreciated. I have googled it and also had a poke around the freenas GUI but just can't seem to see where to rebuild the array.

I am running FreeNas 8.0.4-Release-x64.

Thanks in advance.

survive

Behold the Wumpus

AirNewZealand15

Dabbler
thanks for the prompt reply!

Screen Shot 2012-10-07 at 6.54.45 PM.jpg

I would assume from the image above that the second drive is the 'faulty' one as it has no name etc

Also, under my SMART tests I have 'no SMART tests defined' so I assume that I have to add them obviously. What is the best test(s) to add here?

THANKS!

paleoN

Wizard
From a SSH session as root paste the output of:
Code:
zpool status -v

camcontrol devlist

gpart show

To view the SMART info:
Code:
smartctl -q noserial -a /dev/adaX

Stephens

Patron
I don't believe the drive(s) are faulty.

Absent any evidence about why you believe this (what tests you've run to verify it), a more accurate word than "believe" might be "hope". Definitely run the smartctl test paleon referenced and report back with the output.

AirNewZealand15

Dabbler
Absent any evidence about why you believe this (what tests you've run to verify it), a more accurate word than "believe" might be "hope". Definitely run the smartctl test paleon referenced and report back with the output.

Good call. I have NOTHING to backup my statement about the drives not being faulty except the fact that they are quite new, however as you know even new drives can fail.