Configuring a NFS shares and accessing them via Windows 7?

Status
Not open for further replies.

senior_hombre

Explorer
Hi,
i am new to FreeNAS and so i read the documentation but there a lot of questions left and in some cases it just is not giving enough information to solve my problems.

At first i will describe what i want, i want to create basically 3 shares (using NFS).
One of them is a "public" directory to which every one in the network (even quest without any accounts or login information) should have access to (writing and reading), two others are personal home directorys to which only one user has access to (two users each has it own home directory) both users are currently using windows 7 but are switching to linux in the near future (thats why i want NFS).

Now my problems:
1. the documentation says: "Create a guest account that everyone will use" http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Users the "funny" thing is, there is no explanation how to create such a guest account (which special settings it needs, what distinguishes it from normal users and so on)

2. i created a NFS share as described in the documentation but sadly most fields do not give any examples so i left the mapall and maproot fields at N/A (i found examples setting the maproot to root or the mapall to some kind of nonexistent user, but thats not what i want). Remember: i want to have two shares and each should be only accessable by a special user and noone else (except maybe by root).
Anyway i let it at N/A and only changed the path to one of my users home directory (a dataset with the user as owner) and the Authorized networks to: 192.168.0.0/24 to allow only acces from my local network.
Then i used this tutorial: http://www.hackourlife.com/mount-linux-nfs-share-on-windows-7/
to get access to the directory from a windows 7 pc. But there are the following problems:
2.1 i have access from every pc i do not get asked for a username and password