CIFS service will not start after upgrading 9.2.1>9.2.1.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

FreeNASUser5129

Dabbler
Hi Guys,

I just upgraded to 9.2.1.1 this morning when I saw that there were a bunch of fixes to the CIFS/Samba 4 code.

I use an encrypted volume, with a ZFS1 configuration.

After upgrading, the CIFS service will not start for me, no matter what I try. I have searched and searched for a solution but come up empty. I have tried Supa's suggestion here: http://forums.freenas.org/index.php...the-service-could-not-be-started.18296/page-2 to no avail.

I'm actually not 100% sure how I can troubleshoot this effectively. Re-starting FreeNAS has had no effect. I set the logging to debug in the CIFS service, but I don't know where that writes (I'm not a linux expert). One piece of information that I did manage to find is that running this in the shell:

/usr/local/sbin smbd --interactive --debuglevel=3

looks like it is attempting to start the service and shows me a few things...

Failed to fetch domain sid for WORKGROUP
Failed to fetch domain sid for WORKGROUP
file_init_global: Information only: requested 16384 open files, 11075 are available.
Initialise the svcctl registery keys if needed.
Initialise the eventlog registery keys if needed
waiting for connections
Could not find child 47109 -- ignoring
Could not find child 47129 -- ignoring
Could not find child 47166 -- ignoring

etc

It actually just goes on an on with telling me that it could not find child [#].

Is there anything I can run or try to get this working? Maybe just something to see what's happening here? I would hate to have to re-install and re-configure my entire environment, but CIFS sharing is absolutely critical. Everything worked fine prior to 9.2.1. Once upgrading to 9.2.1, I had a brief issue with the CIFS service not wanting to start, but after opening and saving one of my existing CIFS shares, it started up ok. Since upgrading to 9.2.1.1, I get absolutely nothing.