Changing SATA ports of a pool

ertank

Explorer
Hello,

I am a total newbie on using PCIe expansion cards, but I am in a position to use one now.

My motherboard has only 4 SATA ports and all of them are used. I am forced to use USB for booting and it gives me trouble about twice a year. I ordered a 256GB NVMe drive for booting my system from.

Unfortunately, my motherboard utilize one of the SATA ports if I am to insert a NVMe drive on it. In order to overcome this issue, I am willing to order this PCIe expansion card and move all my SATA drives on it.

I have following questions in my mind though:
1- Can I find this pre-flashed for FreeNAS PCIe card delivered not from China (because of virus problem)? That is for about same price of course.
2- I do not know what kind of cable(s) I need to buy. Any purchase links are welcome.
3- Do I need to take any additional steps before physically moving all my drives on this card? I do not know, maybe system will identify them as a different device name etc. I do not want to get myself into trouble.

Thanks & regards,
Ertan

My motherboard has only 4 SATA ports and all of them are used. I am forced to use USB for booting and it gives me trouble about twice a year. I ordered a 256GB NVMe drive for booting my system from.

Unfortunately, my motherboard utilize one of the SATA ports if I am to insert a NVMe drive on it. In order to overcome this issue, I am willing to order this PCIe expansion card and move all my SATA drives on it.
Two quick things. First, while not a deal breaker using M.2 drives as boot drives is a bit of a waste of the speed of the port if it is an NVMe drive. If you're adding an HBA anyway to get more SATA ports you could boot off SATA SSDs. This isn't a HUGE deal but it does preclude you from putting a SLOG device in there in the future which would benefit from the speed.