cant access CIFS share windows 7 x64 freeNAS 9.1.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

stevem1986

Cadet
Hi Guys,

Im new to freeNAS and am looking for help on a really frustrating problem with FreeNAS-9.1.1-release-x64 on my home network.

I get the following when I try and access my install of FreeNAS;

freenas error1.png

I have reinstalled the whole installation and followed all the guides on the net to no avail.

I know it is hard to diagnose this issue across a forum but any help would be much appreciated.

I have tried adding a guest account and changing the permissions to suit as per http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Windows_(CIFS)_Shares#Configuring_Anonymous_Access in the manual and still I can not access the share.

I have added a user to match my windows user account.

I have change the permissions on both the shares and the volume to multiple combinations with no success. I have also tried different machine son my network with the same result.

I cant believe it can be this hard to make a windows share work on FreeNAS.

Once again any help will be very much appreciated

D

dlavigne

Is the home directory for the user set to the volume being shared? Is the username the same as the login name on the Windows system?

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
For guest access you don't need to use accounts.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

Yatti420

Wizard
Change / set new workgroup.. Run CCleaner with amended settings to clear all caches..

stevem1986

Cadet
Change / set new workgroup.. Run CCleaner with amended settings to clear all caches..

Cleared all caches, no difference on any 3 of my machines, most likely issue is stemming from the Freenas server side rather than the client side

stevem1986

Cadet
For guest access you don't need to use accounts.

I understand that, but the general consensus is that to access shares froma windows machine it helps to have a user name in freenas that is linked to the windows user account