Cannot see files copied into Volume...

Status
Not open for further replies.

muzikizum

Cadet
Hello all,
i've not found any post that bears a resemblance to my issue so will post this here...
I am a complete novice to most things I.T. but through sheer persistence and dumb luck I have managed to set up FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 Release x64 on my HP Proliant N54L Microserver (16234MB).

I got CIFS working (Windows 8.1) and dragged and copied across from an external HD 1.1TB of movies into the volume (v1) I created via ZFS (2 x 2TB mirrored). This took about 36 hrs to do but at the end of it when I looked in the folder there was no physical folder visible.

In FreeNAS GUI from the 'View Volumes' tab I can see that it shows that 1.1TB (61%) has been used therefore the movies are on the disc somewhere.

Looking from Windows the only folders visible in v1 volume are '.system' and 'jails'. If I right click on 'jails' and select properties the 'size on disk' starts to increase and eventually stops at about 200GB.

Not sure quite what to do now as in my ignorance I thought I could just point to the folder I copied but obviously this is not the case. My minimum aim is to watch movies using Plex via my server so i'm hoping that I won't need to re-load these movies again if at all possible. Any ideas?

Apologies if I've missed any relevant details but as you can probably tell i'm well out of my depth with this...

Scareh

Contributor
can you try and look via ftp if the data is actually present on your disks?
I presume your caching through cifs isn't really optimal atm.

muzikizum

Cadet
OK, thanks for the quick response Scareh. Currently at work so will check via FTP later but as the disk content is showing as 61% there's certainly something present. In the meantime i'll peruse through the site for more information that may help...

muzikizum

Cadet
Installed Filezilla, logged into the server and could not see the files present; just the jails and system folders as before.