Buying old server hardware to keep costs down.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LukeC

Cadet
Hi guys how are you all. Happy New Year for whenever it reaches you.

I am currently researching building myself a nas to suit my purposes and budget and I've run into a question I can't seem to find an obvious answer via the stickies and previous posts. I'm sure it has been asked so I appologised if I missed the answer obviously somewhere.

In a nutshell, I will be using the nas to store backups of my work (I am a freelance 3d artist), store the usual documents and photos and stream movies to raspbmc. It will not have heavy use but I do want it to keep my data safe.
Basically I am trying to see if it is viable to buy older server hardware to keep costs down but here are the questions I'm a little stuck on.

1. I am considering an older xeon, although I am unsure how old I should go. Currently I have no real need to do any transcoding, although I might in the future.

2. Is older hardware more power hungry? I assume it would be, but as this build is only really to last 2 years max, I think I can tolerate it being a little more power hungry then current generation hardware.

As I said I am still researching, so forgive me if it appears like I am asking you to do my work for me. I just find that I get a little lost looking into old hardware and I am running around in circles, so if I can get past the new/old hardware hurdle that would greatly help in spending my research time a little more wisely.

Cheers in advance and all the best
Luke

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Older hardware works but may be slower and will eat more power compared to similar speed modern gear.

For example, we have some nice Tyan S2882 with Opteron 240EE storage servers, loaded with 4 disks they run around 90-120 watts. The EE is the 30 watt very pricey variant of the CPU. That was great at the time (2005 era) because most similar gear was 150-300 watts.