Building first NAS this this weekend.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hugo Ochoa

Dabbler
Hello!

I'm completely new to FreeNAS. Just registered and wanted to introduce myself. I hope to follow the rules of the forum and read all the docs. I'm getting delivery of the hardware for my first FreeNAS build this weekend. I ordered the hardware based on recommendations from this forum.

I intend to use the NAS for my home. I do take a lot of pictures and videos of my kids with my Canon 5D III which makes very big files. Also have some DVDs and Blue Ray disks that I plan on ripping for streaming to my PS3 over Wi-Fi. In addition, I’d like to make backups of my PC, PS3, DVRs, laptops, tablets, and smartphones.

A bonus would be to also be able to access the videos and pictures stored in the NAS though all my handheld devices over the internet and locally. We'll see if I can figure out how to do that.

Here's what I ordered from Newegg:
1​
$229.99​
1​
$179.99​
6​
$1,109.94
($184.99 ea)​
1​
$380.99​
1​
$199.99​
3​
1​
$199.99​
1​
$11.22​

Yatti420

Wizard
Nice.. Their is a plugin I believe.. Subsonic that will allow mobile access to media.. I'm not sure on it's requirements however.. Let us know how you like the Rosewill chassis.. Make sure you run wdidle in the red drives just in case.. CPU is probably a little overkill ;) - It is required for the 1600mhz ram though..

ser_rhaegar

Patron
Don't forget a UPS and backup solution.

For remotely accessing the photos, you could use the OwnCloud plugin and remote in via VPN to your router (appears to support VPN).

Hugo Ochoa

Dabbler
Nice.. Their is a plugin I believe.. Subsonic that will allow mobile access to media.. I'm not sure on it's requirements however.. Let us know how you like the Rosewill chassis.. Make sure you run wdidle in the red drives just in case.. CPU is probably a little overkill ;) - It is required for the 1600mhz ram though..