First time venturing into NAS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joel.LM

Dabbler
Hi. Been debating between budgeting to building a NAS or a new gaming rig for well over a year now and decided on a NAS for a few reasons. One I have never built a NAS before and always wanted to. Two, it's cheaper then the gaming right I'd like to build, and Three, most importantly it will get the most use. I have two daughters and as much as I like Dino trucks and my little pony. There is only so many times a man can watch that stuff in a month. Having our pictures and videos backed up would also be nice, my phone was lost not long ago with it many pictures that never got backed up. This NAS is basically going to be for entertainment purposes music, photos, getting more shelf space (ripping and moving my bluray into storage) and having my kids watch their stuff in the guest room or on a mobile device with out me worrying about how the disc will look like after. I plan on runny either plex or kodi, I have more experience with Kodi (xmbc) but it seems that plex may offer some necessary features that xmbc does not have yet.

Anyways I'm the kind of guy that likes to build thing once and not worry about it until it's absolutely necessary. In other words if I see a huge performance drop or the hardware can no longer support the software.

Mobo - MSI C236A Workstation LGA 1151 Intel C236 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard (yes I know you guys like supermicro)

Cpu - Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31230V5 Server Processor

Ram - Kingston 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000) Server Memory Model KVR21R15S4K4/32

PSU - SeaSonic Snow Silent 750 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Storage - HGST Deskstar NAS H3IKNAS30003272SN (0S03660) 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" High-Performance Hard Drive for Desktop ...