Best way to swap from RAIDZ1 to RAIDZ2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stuggi

Cadet
Hi everybody,

I just got my FreeNAS up and running (HP DL320G6, E5502, 18 GB PC3-10600R) after half a year of research, and still I made a somewhat boneheaded mistake, I set up RAIDZ1 without thinking! I'm a server/network admin by day, and we regularly use RAID5 with smaller (sub 1TB) SAS drives (URE rates of 10^15 or 10^16), so I didn't think much of it, but with "normal" drives this might be an issue.

So, current setup is 2 1TB Red drives and 2 250GB "used" HP SATA drives in RAIDZ1. I started out testing the NAS with what I had laying around (2x160GB and 2x250GB), and when it got serious about an hour in I resilvered the vDev (or maybe it's the Pool that gets resilvered?) with the two 1TB drives.

Now, I have 2 4TB Reds in the mail, and 2 more in the pipeline for next month, so before I get too much data in the pool I would like to swap out the vDev for a RAIDZ2 from the 1TB and 4TB Reds, netting me 2TB of usable space ATM and 8TB after the upgrade.

Now the question becomes how to offload the data while I work on the pool. I have a VMware host with a 2 TB datastore sitting pretty next to the FreeNAS, so I can set up just about anything on that to take the data from the FreeNAS. What I would like to accomplish is something where I can basically just transfer out the whole pool, delete it from the FreeNAS and copy it back in again, without having to fix a whole lot of stuff, like my Plex Jail and what have you. Can this be done easily and how? From what I can gather it's quite easy to do this if you have something that runs ZFS that you can backup to and from, but how do I set this up with virtual HDDs in VMware? (I know the right way would be to pass the drives through to the VM directly, but I don't want to break my ESXi environment if I don't have to.)