Basic Question re: IBM M1015 Controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Beschakis

Dabbler
Hi, total noob here. Sorry if this is a thread that's been beaten to death, but my question is really very basic.
Just getting ready to complete the assembly of components for a FreeNAS server, and I'm wondering what exactly I will gain if I decide to crossflash and install the IBM M1015 I bought (oem version, no dox).
The main page of the FreeNAS documentation (Hardware Recommendations) is a little unclear. First, they tell you not to bother with a controller, then they say:

"If you need reliable disk alerting, immediate reporting of a failed drive, and or swapping, use a fully manageable hardware RAID controller such as a LSI MegaRAID controller or a 3Ware twa-compatible controller."

...sounds great, right? And then they steer you to a forum post which builds the case for a controller with claims like:

" If you get an M1015 and crossflash it to IT mode, you end up with one of the best HBA controllers available for FreeNAS, in my opinion. "

OK, so I included the M1015 in my parts list, and it arrived yesterday...nice PCI-E card, ready to pop in. Got the breakout cables, etc. I have the driver ready for the crossflash procedure, etc.. But before I do this, I'd like to know exactly why there seems to be a convergence of the FreeNAS community on this option. IOW, what exactly do you gain by doing it? Are the "reliable disk alerting, immediate reporting of a failed drive, and or swapping" features of the card's driver? How are they accessed and managed? Are people willing to introduce an addition point of failure for a performance gain? Even as a pass-through, the card isn't going to speed up throughput to an appreciable degree in a home user media archive scenario (lots of large, infrequently-accessed files), right?

Thanks. I appreciate any advice on this.