Attempting to determine failed drive behind RAID controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarlB

Dabbler
I'm a total FreeNAS rookie. Last year I bought an old poweredge server off ebay in hope of making a cheap NAS. It sort of worked, but there were some complications, like the fact that all drives sit behind a raid controller. So I ended up making RAID0 for each drive, then letting FreeNAS do RAIDZ on its own. Ghetto solution, but I figured it was ok for now.

Here were are months later and I've had my first drive problem. "The volume vol0 state is DEGRADED: One or more devices could not be opened. Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state." Excellent I thought, ZFS has saved me time to replace that drive.
Code:
Checking status of zfs pools:
NAME		   SIZE  ALLOC   FREE  EXPANDSZ   FRAG	CAP  DEDUP  HEALTH  ALTROOT
freenas-boot  14.5G   834M  13.7G		 -	  -	 5%  1.00x  ONLINE  -
vol0		  14.5T  5.61T  8.89T		 -	14%	38%  1.00x  DEGRADED  /mnt

pool: vol0
 state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices could not be opened.  Sufficient replicas exist for
		the pool to continue functioning in a degraded state.
action: Attach the missing device and online it using 'zpool online'.
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-2Q
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0 days 03:34:33 with 0 errors on Sun Jan 28 03:34:35 2018
config:

NAME											STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM
		vol0											DEGRADED	 0	 0	 0
		  raidz1-0									  DEGRADED	 0	 0	 0
			gptid/b04226f1-7899-11e7-a067-842b2b005ba9  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
			gptid/b08932dd-7899-11e7-a067-842b2b005ba9  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
			71195709623019041						   UNAVAIL	  0	 0	 0  was /dev/gptid/b0dc468b-7899-11e7-a067-842b2b005ba9
			gptid/b125c584-7899-11e7-a067-842b2b005ba9  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  raidz1-1									  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
			gptid/2c9bfa43-7f0e-11e7-879a-842b2b005ba9  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
			gptid/2d1ccd4c-7f0e-11e7-879a-842b2b005ba9  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0