Admin/User since 8.2 w/ a desire to contrib

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCanada

Cadet
Time Appropriate Greetings,

I have been a long time administrator and user of several generations of FreeNAS systems at work and home, they have served us exceedingly well.

Thank you, to all of the individuals who have made this possible!

A bit of my back story:

I have been heavily involved in the tech sector for 20+/- years using various Linux Distros and only in the last 2 years have I been interested in learning {open,free,drgonfly,nano}BSD; I have placed my focus on FreeBSD primarily because I like working in the command line, accordingly people will comment that when they see me on my macbook that seldom leave my fullscreen terminal window and follow it up with a how do you get anything done?

As a lone wolf consultant I lack the perspective to know quantitatively where my skill level is in comparison to others generally interested in playing a more active role in the project.

At present:

I would like to contribute specifically to the FreeNAS project, however I am a bit unsure where/how to start and would appreciate your incite.

m0nkey_

MVP
I would like to contribute specifically to the FreeNAS project, however I am a bit unsure where/how to start and would appreciate your incite.
Small contributions such as participating in the community, giving advise, helping others is a great start! Join us in the IRC chatroom on Freenode. Just giving back knowledge to the community is probably one of the best ways to help. You can also help out by pulling down the latest FreeNAS 10 beta and report any bugs you might find.

If you want to get more involved, you can look for the FreeNAS project on GitHub and make pull requests to help improve the code.

PCanada

Cadet
m0nkey_,

Thank you for your advice,