Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

TrueCommand Docker Container

Heracles

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
676
Hey Boltworks,

When I first upgraded my container with the latest version, it failed to correctly started its internal SQL database. I destroyed, removed and re-created the container and it fixed the problem.

Here, I am using Portainer to manage my containers and one feature I like is Portainer's ability to show me the log from every running container. It was by looking at this log that I noticed the database that did not start.

Any chance for you to look in your container's logs for more details about the problem ?
 

NASnewbi916

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
26
Hello TrueCommanders,

I am trying to install TrueCommand on docker on a raspberry pi. I have docker working fine and just to test it i also installed portainer.io and that container is working fine. however, Every time i start the truecommand container it stops and generates this error in the logs

standard_init_linux.go:211: exec user process caused "exec format error"

any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

Heracles

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
676
Hey NASnewbi,

A Raspberry PI is not running an Intel processor. It is running an ARM processor. Portainer has been compiled for ARM, so you can install it on such a processor. I do not know if TrueCommand has been compiled for ARM but from your post and my first search, I would say No.

So that would mean you need to run TrueCommand from another platform than Raspberry Pi, a platform based on Intel.
 

geoff.jukes

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
40
The current Docker image broke my SSL completely - even the workaround doesn't work any more.
 

geoff.jukes

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
40
Thanks @aervin
I nuked my instance, purged the container images, and started form scratch, and now I'm having the same issue as others here (the DB not creating/Initial login not working). I think (*think*) it might be a Windows/Docker issue (there is an ongoing issue with data syncing). But if other users are having the initial login issue and NOT running Windows, then that would rule that out (@boltworks are you running the server on Windows?)
 

ddrucker

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
4
I'm having the same issue. I started the docker image just now, but logging in with admin/admin just leads to the login page spinning endlessly.

This is on a Centos 7 host.
 

blueether

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
259
The docker container seems to work well on Alpine linux 3.11.3. No issues with login.
 

Heracles

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Feb 2, 2018
Messages
676
FYI : Mine is running on LUbuntu 18 LTS
 

jleg

Newbie
Joined
Dec 15, 2017
Messages
1
I'm having the same issue. I started the docker image just now, but logging in with admin/admin just leads to the login page spinning endlessly.

This is on a Centos 7 host.
and another "me too" - with latest image on a Debian stretch (with vanilla docker-ce) i can login with "admin:admin", but the "sign up" does only show the busy marker endlessly (latest chrome, latest firefox browsers on win10)

But - in the logs on the docker host i get the following every minute or so:
Feb 26 12:27:35 vcl2-1 kernel: [28945767.425657] QNetworkAccessM[29366]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f3392ab9b84 sp 00007f338cb99a58 error 4 in libQt5Network.so.5.11.3[7f3392a5c000+113000]
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
1,485
Fetch and startup with the provided instructions on Docker Hub was completely painless. Now I am not much if a Linux guy. I did it on Ubuntu 18 with plain docker.io. Did anyone already create a systemd service to start Truecommand at boot?

Thanks,
Patrick
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
1,485
A quick shot at the search engine of least distrust and then some tinkering resulted in:
Code:
# https://blog.container-solutions.com/running-docker-containers-with-systemd
#
[Unit]
Description=Truecommand Container
After=docker.service
Requires=docker.service

[Service]
TimeoutStartSec=0
Restart=always
ExecStartPre=-/usr/bin/docker stop %n
ExecStartPre=-/usr/bin/docker rm %n
ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/docker pull ixsystems/truecommand
ExecStart=/usr/bin/docker run --rm --name %n -v "/var/lib/truecommand:/data" -p 80:80 -p 443:443 ixsystems/truecommand

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target


Seems to work great. mkdir /var/lib/truecommand once after pulling the container.

Patrick
 
Last edited:

aervin

iXsystems
iXsystems
Joined
Jun 13, 2018
Messages
35
A quick shot at the search engine of least distrust and then some tinkering resulted in:
Code:
# https://blog.container-solutions.com/running-docker-containers-with-systemd
#
[Unit]
Description=Truecommand Container
After=docker.service
Requires=docker.service

[Service]
TimeoutStartSec=0
Restart=always
ExecStartPre=-/usr/bin/docker stop %n
ExecStartPre=-/usr/bin/docker rm %n
ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/docker pull ixsystems/truecommand
ExecStart=/usr/bin/docker run --rm --name %n -v "/var/lib/truecommand:/data" -p 80:80 -p 443:443 ixsystems/truecommand

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target


Seems to work great. mkdir /var/lib/truecommand once after pulling the container.

Patrick
Thanks @Patrick M. Hausen , I'll test that out soon!
 

catherineva11e

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
14
I followed the directions at https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/truecommand/1.2/truecommand.html#installation
Installed docker desktop for windows
tried running docker run --detach -v "/hostdirectory:/data" -p portnumber:80 -p sslport:443 ixsystems/truecommand:latest
but got errors
tried docker run --detach ixsystems/truecommand:latest
no errors
verified it is running with docker ps
but I can't access the webinterface
I've tried http://localhost:80
even replaced localhost with the actual ip
 

Patrick M. Hausen

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
1,485
1. Install Ubuntu VM
2. apt-get install docker
 

kenmoore

TrueCommand Project Lead
iXsystems
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
41
I followed the directions at https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/truecommand/1.2/truecommand.html#installation
Installed docker desktop for windows
tried running docker run --detach -v "/hostdirectory:/data" -p portnumber:80 -p sslport:443 ixsystems/truecommand:latest
but got errors
tried docker run --detach ixsystems/truecommand:latest
no errors
verified it is running with docker ps
but I can't access the webinterface
I've tried http://localhost:80
even replaced localhost with the actual IP
You need to replace the "hostdirectory", "portnumber", and "sslport" in the first docker run command with settings from your system. Something like this:
Code:
sudo mkdir /tc-data
docker run --detach -v "/tc-data:/data" -p 8080:80 -p 8081:443 ixsystems/truecommand:latest


Then you can open a web browser and for the URL type in "localhost:8080" to open up the web interface running on your local system.
 

Adrian

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
128
Using docker on Windows 10, I circumvented my spin on connection problem by a totally clean start (no history, no configuration) and using a volume rather than a host directory. e.g:
Code:
docker volume create tc-data
docker run --name tc --detach --mount source=tc-vol,target=/data -p 8090:80 -p 8091:443 ixsystems/truecommand:latest

Ken had intimated a permissions problem in an issue. I could not see anything amiss but tried a host directory as a quick fix.
 

jon.z

Neophyte
Joined
Apr 20, 2020
Messages
7
Reposting from the TrueCommand 1.2 announcement thread:

We're having the same issue (enter default login, then scroll bar with no further actions) when trying to run latest TrueCommand container (1.2.2) on a Docker Swarm hosted on base Centos 7 VMs. The issue appears to be a Qt shared library requiring a later Kernel version than Centos 7 currently offers, according to this and this. So much for portability of a container.. I verified this by upgrading the kernel only on a Development Centos 7 VM in our Docker Swarm and the TrueCommand 1.2.2 container ran successfully after that upgrade. However, upgrading the Kernel version across our fleet to run TureCommand is not a real fix unfortunately. Devs, is this something you can address in a new release?

Pre kernel upgrade
Code:
# uname -a
Linux mn2-dev 3.10.0-1062.18.1.el7.x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Mar 17 23:49:17 UTC 2020 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
# docker service logs
...
XXXXX | 2020-04-20 23:35:30,766 INFO exited: middleware (exit status 127; not expected)
XXXXX | 2020-04-20 23:35:30,766 INFO gave up: middleware entered FATAL state, too many start retries too quickly
docker exec -it -u 0 660e27db3497 /bin/bash
root@660e27db3497:~# cat /var/log/ix_middleware.log
/usr/bin/ix_middleware: error while loading shared libraries: libQt5Core.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/ix_middleware: error while loading shared libraries: libQt5Core.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/ix_middleware: error while loading shared libraries: libQt5Core.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/ix_middleware: error while loading shared libraries: libQt5Core.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@660e27db3497:~# ls -lha /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/|grep libQt5Core
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 20 Jan 30 13:42 libQt5Core.so.5 -> libQt5Core.so.5.11.3
lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 20 Jan 30 13:42 libQt5Core.so.5.11 -> libQt5Core.so.5.11.3
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 5.0M Jan 30 13:42 libQt5Core.so.5.11.3
root@660e27db3497:~#


Post kernel upgrade
Code:
uname -a
Linux mn2-dev 4.4.219-1.el7.elrepo.x86_64 #1 SMP Sun Apr 12 16:13:06 EDT 2020 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
docker service logs XXXXX
XXXXX    | 2020-04-21 02:20:16,550 INFO success: middleware entered RUNNING state, process has stayed up for > than 2 seconds (startsecs)


Further, with the container running on the Docker Swarm (after the kernel upgrade hack), it is reporting `Connection Timeout` when connecting to a FreeNAS system. I've removed the system, re-added it, modified it, disabled strict SSL, verified the password in TrueCommand - however it's still reported as offline. I've got a shell in the TrucCommand container and ensured TCP connectivity works, so this appears to be application issue. Can anyone else confirm this? Btw, I'm also running TrueCommand locally on a Mac Laptop and setup the FreeNAS system exactly the same as the Swarm instance - and that works.
Code:
root@3b335d00c301:~# nc -zv host 443
Ncat: Version 7.70 ( https://nmap.org/ncat )
Ncat: Connected to host:443.
Ncat: 0 bytes sent, 0 bytes received in 0.20 seconds.
 
Top