3D NAS Case & New setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeanNotDin

Dabbler
Hello!

I have been using FreeNAS for about 4 years now, and running it on an old PC that I had.
Nothing special, but it works fine with 12gb of RAM and 3x4TB WD Red configured to a big pool.
I also stuck a 128gb SanDisk SSD for caching, since I use it as an home media server and I thought it would improve streaming speed. Doesn't seem like that helped though.

So my plan is to print a custom 3D case out of PLA (temp shouldn't be an issue since it's resilient to about 180° before melting) and make it as small as possible in order to support current disk amount.

My power usage at the moment doesn't exceed 180W at maximum usage, so I thought of using this tiny PS.
There's also a 300W version that i'm thinking about.

The problematic component is the MotherBoard and this is where I need your help!
I need a small board, with 4 SATA ports (1 for future proofing), 2 USB ports (1 for flash drive running freenas, the second one for a redundancy flash drive that would be swapped with a keyboard when needed) with the option to control a fan (noctua 14cm fan on top and on bottom to create massive airflow).
Best case scinario is to find a second hand motherboard with preinstalled RAM and CPU (/w ECC).

Share your findings!
Tips and advices will be taken with a smile

kdragon75

Wizard
so I thought of using this tiny PS.
Thats cute and will cause nothing but problems. Get a proper 400-500 watt PSU that's 80+ certified and of decent quality.
I also stuck a 128gb SanDisk SSD for caching, since I use it as an home media server and I thought it would improve streaming speed. Doesn't seem like that helped though.