10G Speed issues on Intel X520-DA2

Coolamasta

Dabbler
Hey all, I am quite new to FreeNAS, have been using it for about a year and been very pleased with it, I have just built a new budget dedicated NAS and am using 10G on it this time but having some speed issues which is capping my I/O.

Very quickly my NAS hardware is a Xeon E3-1220v3 with 32GB ECC with an Avago/LSI 9201 16 port HBA (latest FW) and an Intel X520-DA2 dual 10G NIC, Drive Pool's include a 6 x 8TB RZ2 and a 4 x 256GB SSD Mirrored (Raid 10 equivalent I assume)

All works flawlessly as far as getting into the drives over the network etc, perfect over a 1G network but slow in 10G, the only network option I have changed is "mtu 9000" on the X520 interfaces and also set 9000 for jumbo frames on the switch and windows client so its enabled all round.

Problem is I have this hard cap of around 280MB/s read and 380MB/s write (SMB) and that is to the spinning disk pool OR the SSD pool, same speeds, (client I am testing on has an nVME SSD so plenty of I/O) I also used iperf and the speeds that show are the same are the read world copying speeds I am seeing above so definately seems to be network rather than disk I/O not able to keep up, would expect to see much higher speeds to the SSD pool.

I have tried a bunch of things and have spent ages trawling around on here and Google but not finding a lot, does anyone have any suggestions as to what to try next, I see that there is the tunables area but not sure where to start with all that, weird as I see people has great success with the X520's?

Any help is hugely appreciated :)

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Try turning jumbo off.