Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.
10 Gig Networking Primer

10 Gig Networking Primer

Darren Myers

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
926
I'll get the same then. I already order 4 without markings, I'll just look around for more. I can't thank you enough. The switch is already shipped, I will download the manual and start learning CLI. I'll get some universal rack ears to make it look nice on the rack , since it don't come with rails. Originally it does come with rails not just rack ears , I assume because it too heavy, will see about that.:)
really only the commands you need to know how to enable SSH/telnet, save the running config to memory, and then thats it. that where i messed up the first time...all my time with cisco gear and i forgot the basic save running config...and i had to redo my config lol, thankfully all i changed was the password, and enabled SSH/telnet.
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
I learn how to do that on Dell 5548 , I figure is very similar on this switch, of course Internet is full with support for dell stuff, if it wasn't for you I wouldn't even know about the existence of this switch. After some research it seem , it may not look pretty but ,it's very serious switch. Did I mention it's made in Japan ? :)
 

danb35

FreeNAS Wizard
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
10,773
I guess it's related to this thread... I'm getting dead ports on my existing, unmanaged, GbE switch, so I'm starting to think it's time for an upgrade. Following the suggestion in @jgreco's post, I take a look on eBay for Dell 5524 switches, and they're looking reasonably priced and should be entirely adequate for my needs for quite a while. I figure I'll upgrade the FreeNAS server to 10G later.

Having never used a managed switch before, I decided to take a look at the manual--all 700+ pages of it. Frankly, I'm a little intimidated. Is this something I could expect to be able to drop in and replace an unmanaged switch?
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
12,151
yes, you can probably drop it in and it is very likely to work similarly to an unmanaged switch. However, the opportunities for configuration and complexity do exist, and that managed switch can do a lot more than your typical unmanaged switch.
 

danb35

FreeNAS Wizard
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
10,773
If it will work out-of-the-box (perhaps with a configuration reset), I figure I can have time to learn about the fancy features later, as long as I won't hose my network in the process. Thanks for the reassurance.

Do you know if the switch supports SSH public key authentication? What I see in the manual sounds like just passwords.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
12,151
for a home user, you probably don't need most of the fancy features. However, they are there, and the ability to do things such as VLANs are a very nice feature of a managed switch. They allow you to segment and more carefully define your network rather than just having one large network, as many home users do. You could, for example, have a separate VLAN for your own home office, for your kids,and for guests to use. I believe that the 5524 has a web management interface, which would make configuring the unit substantially easier than working from the commandline interface.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
12,151
and, my apologies, I am on Mobile here, I didn't see the rest of your question. I do not specifically know about the 5524 and SSH authentication, however, the higher end switches do. As far as I am aware, the switches share a common cold base, so I would be inclined to guess that they do support it.
 

danb35

FreeNAS Wizard
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
10,773
Thanks for the info--time to keep an eye on eBay, I guess...
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
really only the commands you need to know how to enable SSH/telnet, save the running config to memory, and then thats it. that where i messed up the first time...all my time with cisco gear and i forgot the basic save running config...and i had to redo my config lol, thankfully all i changed was the password, and enabled SSH/telnet.
I got the switch today. Not very loud , I would consider it normal as far as loudness goes. Very heavy , it won just work with rack ears on front , I 'll have to make my own rails ,which I 'll do soon. Also power consumption is 90W on idle.

One thing I am little worried - the fans are reversed , so it's sucking air from the back and blowing it to the front where the ports are. IS yours like that too. Have you consider opening the switch and flip the fans around ?
 

Darren Myers

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
926
I got the switch today. Not very loud , I would consider it normal as far as loudness goes. Very heavy , it won just work with rack ears on front , I 'll have to make my own rails ,which I 'll do soon. Also power consumption is 90W on idle.

One thing I am little worried - the fans are reversed , so it's sucking air from the back and blowing it to the front where the ports are. IS yours like that too. Have you consider opening the switch and flip the fans around ?
All the ones i found ARE reversed, i think in my original post i stated it was. All the models i found for that switch on ebay are all reversed fans. I havent considered opening it because well, im lazy....and it doesnt really bother me.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
12,151
The fans are not reversed. The fans are properly oriented. Normally, a switch would be mounted at the top of a rack in the back. Airflow in a rack typically flows from the front side to the rear, so, for the switch, that means that it would need to suck air in the rear, and put it out the front.
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
All the ones i found ARE reversed, i think in my original post i stated it was. All the models i found for that switch on ebay are all reversed fans. I havent considered opening it because well, im lazy....and it doesnt really bother me.
I want this switch to face the front of the rack , same as other switches , patch panels , etc. I already open it, it will take awhile but I will flip all fans including the one in the power supplies. Can't have it mess up my airflow after all the work I did.

P.S. More I am looking this switch more I change my mind to think of him as not pretty one, Nothing wrong with stainless still 10Gb goodness... more I look him more I like him. Thank you for sharing.
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
The fans are not reversed. The fans are properly oriented. Normally, a switch would be mounted at the top of a rack in the back. Airflow in a rack typically flows from the front side to the rear, so, for the switch, that means that it would need to suck air in the rear, and put it out the front.
Actually it is reversed , that what "R" at the end of the model stands for. I know it's on purpose and I see the purpose, but I don't think is better. I can't have multiple switches facing each way in the rack. Dell facing front, Fujitsu facing back, I did very good job on preserving the perfect air flow like: filling the blanks spots, puting "back air circulation kit" from apc so if you move rails few steps back from the front it won't suck air from sides, etc.
This guy (xg200r) is blowing hot air right in my face, but little work with my favorite screw drivers and all fans will suck from front and blow to the back. I am working on it right now.
 

Darren Myers

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
926
Actually it is reversed , that what "R" at the end of the model stands for. I know it's on purpose and I see the purpose, but I don't think is better. I can't have multiple switches facing each way in the rack. Dell facing front, Fujitsu facing back, I did very good job on preserving the perfect air flow like: filling the blanks spots, puting "back air circulation kit" from apc so if you move rails few steps back from the front it won't suck air from sides, etc.
This guy (xg200r) is blowing hot air right in my face, but little work with my favorite screw drivers and all fans will suck from front and blow to the back. I am working on it right now.
You may run into an issue, where the fans now have to suck air through the port side of the switch which may make it a hotter inside the switch. Similar to how the 24 bay supermicro's get there harddrives and internals cool by sucking air through the hdds and there caddies.. With them being reversed and sucking air through the vents and out the port side its getting more airflow that way.
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
You may run into an issue, where the fans now have to suck air through the port side of the switch which may make it a hotter inside the switch. Similar to how the 24 bay supermicro's get there harddrives and internals cool by sucking air through the hdds and there caddies.. With them being reversed and sucking air through the vents and out the port side its getting more airflow that way.
No sure. All supermicro and the fact all servers pull air from front running air through internal part and then through power supply. I think this way should be better and more natural, but I could be wrong. This switch has a model XG2000 which suppose to be the same with fans not reversed , like the one we have XG2000R.

Can you tell what temps your switch is running and I'll check mine when is setup ?!
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,862
All the enterprise Dell switches I know of have reversible fans in the power supplies. It doesn't make a difference. You order a switch and then choose the proper power supply for the direction of airflow you desire.
 

Darren Myers

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
926
No sure. All supermicro and the fact all servers pull air from front running air through internal part and then through power supply. I think this way should be better and more natural, but I could be wrong. This switch has a model XG2000 which suppose to be the same with fans not reversed , like the one we have XG2000R.

Can you tell what temps your switch is running and I'll check mine when is setup ?!
Yea i will see what i can do temp wise shortly, more then likely i won't get back to you until tomorrow afternoon
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
All the enterprise Dell switches I know of have reversible fans in the power supplies. It doesn't make a difference. You order a switch and then choose the proper power supply for the direction of airflow you desire.
True, but In our case we don't have that choice. Fujitsu has both types , when they were making them , but now our choice is just what's left. This was $18K switch back in a day I got for $350 I can't complaint. I already reverse the fans. By the way they were 6 , besides 2 in the the power supplies , they were 4 more.
 

Black Ninja

FreeNAS Guru
Joined
Nov 11, 2014
Messages
1,174
Yea i will see what i can do temp wise shortly, more then likely i won't get back to you until tomorrow afternoon
That's fine. It will take me some time to find how to do that on my end first. :)
 

Darren Myers

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
926
So as it turns out, i *DO* for some reason have 2 different XFP's .... Which is strange because all the XFP's i purchased were sold as FINISAR's. But none the less, it all works, without issue lol. Now as for temps....the only thing it tells me is "Good" there is no actual temp reading it seems i can find or display via the CLI and referring to the manual it just states "Good" is well, good...

From command "show system status"
Code:
[Temperature]
    Internal       : good

[Power Supply]
    PWR-0 (AC)     : good
    PWR-1 (AC)     : good

[Voltage]
    Voltage        : good

[Fan]
    Rear Fan-0     : good (normal-speed)
    Rear Fan-1     : good (normal-speed)
    PWR-0 Fan      : good
    PWR-1 Fan      : good 


This was from the same command, but about the ports where i realize i have 2 different XFP's
Code:
    port 1  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
    port 2  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
    port 3  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
    port 4  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
    port 5  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
    port 6  (Opnext Inc.     :S  ) : good
    port 7  (Opnext Inc.     :S  ) : good
    port 8  (FINISAR CORP.   :S  ) : good
 
Top