1 of my HDD wont be detected

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zaloz

Dabbler
Hello, I am new to freenas and have a setup based on the older hardware recomendations.

Super Micro X9SCM-F
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1230 V2 @ 3.30GHz
2x Samsung 8GB DDR3 1600 ECC UDIMM M391B1G73QH0-YK0 SuperMicro MEM-DR380L-SL02-EU16
2x 4TB WD red
PSU 700w (will be upgraded)

I have installed Freenas 11.1 to a 16gb usb stick and it boots and all. But only 1 of my WD red disks shows up when I go to Volume manager. I know both works since i have tested them serperatly in another computer.
Have tried searching, but havent found a case similar to mine (might be me mistyping when searching) or any topic with a solution for the problem. Not sure what is causing it.
I dont have a raid controller card. I have just plugged the HDDs into the motherboard.

garm

Wizard
Are you sure you installed to the USB key and not one of the drives?

Zaloz

Dabbler
Yes, I installed to USB before I had recieved my HDDs. And it booted without trouble. I checked in bios, and saw that 1 disk had 4000mb and the other had 0.0mb? But both disks was seen in bios.

pro lamer

Guru
What happens when you swap the drives with each other? Does the same drive fail each way? or the same bay fails?

Last edited:

Inxsible

Guru
Why would you want to upgrade it?
Have tried searching, but havent found a case similar to mine (might be me mistyping when searching) or any topic with a solution for the problem. Not sure what is causing it.
Have you tried different SATA ports? Your board has 6, if I am not mistaken. Try the other ports and see if any of those work.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Hello, I am new to freenas and have a setup based on the older hardware recomendations.

Super Micro X9SCM-F
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1230 V2 @ 3.30GHz
2x Samsung 8GB DDR3 1600 ECC UDIMM M391B1G73QH0-YK0 SuperMicro MEM-DR380L-SL02-EU16
2x 4TB WD red