Zvol block size+Zpool sector size+ISCSI extent logical block size

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamesx

Cadet
I have created a Raidz1 Zpool with 3x4TB on a 16GB RAM server. I am using HDD but will define the LUN as an SSD for VMware Esxi 6.5 initiator

I am new to Freenas and would like to ask for your help to build my server. I am reading a lot about sector size and block size and it's quite confusing to me. I know that 4k Zpool sector size is a better way to go but I am not sure what should I set on zvol and iscsi extent?

For a 4k drive should I set...
zvol block size = 4k or just use the default?
iscsi extent = 512 or 4096?

kdragon75

Wizard
I am using HDD but will define the LUN as an SSD for VMware Esxi 6.5 initiator
Any reason for this?
I know that 4k Zpool sector size
forget about the "zpool sector size" The main thing you get to tweak is the ZFS record/block size and this has (almost) nothing to do with the underlying drives. If there was a "best" answer, it would already be set to this. For the zvol, it entirely depends on the anticipated access patterns. Lots of small IO (think databases)? use a similarly small block size. Large IO (think backups), use the biggest option (128k). Storing virtual machine OSs (Think C drive) use 32k or 64k. IO is read and write in the block size (this is just a simplification). If your working with small chunks of data, you dont want to have to read 128k just to get 4k of data. Conversely, you don't want to read 32 4k hunks just to get 128k of data.

iscsi extent = 512 or 4096?
In VMware 6.5 this should be set to 512 for compatibility reasons. You could use 4096 aka 4k but it wont make a difference.

jamesx

Cadet
Any reason for this?

Sorry, i have a previous post about this and you guys have helped me to decide which route should i go, so i go using SSD and disable the defragmentation on a Windows guest OS.