ZFS - 6 drive raid - iSCSI / Storage share question

Status
Not open for further replies.

imanz

Dabbler
Hello Everyone,

I am new to FreeNAS and ZFS in general and I apologize in advance if this is the incorrect forum for these question; I have looked over a few guides but did not get a direct answer to these question. Side note - I work as a software developer with a background in electrical engineering but I have never worked as a system or network engineer. If I am completely misunderstanding a concept please let me know and point me in the direction of some solid reading material, I would love to fill in the gaps as much as possible.

Summary:
The box I just built is using the Supermicro 8 core avoton CPU with 16GB ECC ram and 5 * 3TB WD Red drives and 4 intel NICs. I did order the drives from two different large distributors (Amazon/Newegg) in hopes of getting drives from different batches, although I don't think that really matters in this question. I should also add that this is used in my home where usage is split between my family storage and work (I work from home). I have not yet created any volumes until I figure out the two following question:

Questions:
1. Can iSCSI & "Other storage" be on the same ZFS raid volume? - I would like to use a small part ~ 1-2TB of my total volume as iSCSI for my ESXi cluster as their storage volume. The rest of the space I want to use for backups, general storage, media server storage, ect. Can this be done with some sort of l0gical break up of the single raid array or simply via folders?