Will you accept FreeBSD users ? here I am...

Status
Not open for further replies.

borisnet

Dabbler
Hi All,

I am not a FreeNAS user per se, as I have been using FreeBSD for 15 years+ now - and yes in case you are wondering, I started playing with FreeBSD when I was 5 (joke).

Anyway, I built a NAS on FreeBSD when ZFS was released a long time ago and managed to keep upgrading my zpool across different versions of FreeBSD.
I tested FreeNAS but was comfortable enough with FreeBSD to almost feel frustrated by some limitations of the Web GUI - don't get me wrong, FreeNAS is great but being behind FreeBSD release cycle may be frustrating especially when new features in FreeBSD are convenient.

So, I currently have the following box (build early 2013 currently running FreeBSD-10.0-RELEASE):

Norco RPC4224
Supermicro X9SRL-F
Xeon E5-2665 v1
128GB ECC
3 x M1015 (properly flashed)
6 x 3 TB
12 x 1TB (2.5'')
RAIDZ2 built in such a way that I can lose one of my 3 controllers and still feel like nothing happened.
4x 1Gb NIC in LACP to my switch
2 x 80 GB SSD for the system as a ZFS mirror
Many FreeBSD jails for various purposes

I have another older server - DL380 G5 - 20GB - Dual E5x00 (can't remember the exact CPU) and 8 x 1 TB 2.5 in a zfs pool as well - raidz only if I remember well.

I have other gears but not relevant to this topic.

As the HDD are getting bigger, I would love to convert my compute power (the E5 and the memory) for playing with Openstack and/or ESXi at home.

I am also interested in getting a more concentrated solution and lower power consumption.
I have done the calculation of running 24/7/365 and there is no way I will actually save anything (electricity wise) by buying something new ;-) It's more to get something compact and dedicated.

So here is what I am considering -
Main system:
ASRock C2750D4I
64GB ECC