What would you do / recommend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MassiveOni

Cadet
Heya,
Im new to this whole zfs and freenas thing, and after much reading I still can't find the correct answer for my setup.

Which zfs these 2 systems would you use on 8x 4tb wd reds, and 4x 3tb wd reds?

I want to maximise the amount of usable hard drive space, and one option is raidz1 for the 4x 3tb's and raidz3 for the 8x 4tb's.

What does everyone think?

Cheers

Fox

Explorer
I personally would do this:

One VDEV with six drives, 4TB each at RAIDZ2, total usable space =16TB
A second VDEV with six drives, 3TB each at RAIDZ2 - Total usable space 12TB (Note, you will loose 2TB since two of the drives will be 4TB, but they will be treated as a 3TB)

Total usable space 28TB (remember recommended ECC memory of 32GB, or 1GB per TB)

You want to keep the number of drives in a VDEV at a power of two (2,4,8) plus the parity drives. In your selection, you don't seem to be doing that, plus one of the VDEV's has only one disk of redundancy while the other VDEV has three. If the RAIDZ1 VDEV has two drives go out or possibly an unrecoverable read error while re-silvering, from what I understand, you can loose the entire pool of the 12 drives.

But in the end it is a personal choice, where there are tradeoffs between redundancy/data security and space maximization.

MassiveOni

Cadet
heya,
sorry i didnt explain it correctly
i have 2 systems,
one is a core i7 3610qm with 8gb of ddr3 and 4x 3tb, the other is a core i7 3630qm with 16gb of ddr3 and with 8x 4tb hard drives
hopefully that has cleared things up,
cheers

willnx

Dabbler
So many questions, so little time...

What are you storing on the NAS?
What's the workflow like?
Can you live with losing everything when your Raidz1 has two drive failures as once?
What's the recover plan for when your Raidz1 fails?
Notice I keep using "when"? :p
DDR3 ram, ECC ram?