Weird sound from WD Red 3.0TB - once every hour

Status
Not open for further replies.

morxy49

Contributor
Just recently built my first NAS running FreeNAS. I decided to only plug in one of eight drives to begin with, so i can play around and learn how everything works.

One thing i noticed was that once every hour, every hour, at the exact same time (xx:02) the drive made a really weird sound that lasted for about 15-20 seconds.
I assume that FreeNAS does some kind of hardware check or something, but i'm new to this, so i want to be sure.

Here's a video of the sound. (Raise the volume)

Software: FreeNAS-9.2.1.2-RELEASE-x64
Hardware:
ASRock C2550D4I
Silverstone DS380
Silverstone SFX ST45SF-G 450W
5x WD Red WD30EFRX 64MB 3TB (1 connected)
3x WD Green WD30EZRX 64MB 3TB (0 connected)
Corsair Vengeance Low Profile DDR3 PC12800/1600MHz CL9 2x4GB (CML8GX3M2A1600C9) (will replace these soon)

joeschmuck

Old Man
Sounds like you have some job that runs each hour like maybe Plex and have it rescanning the media every hour. That was a for instance.

morxy49

Contributor
Sounds like you have some job that runs each hour like maybe Plex and have it rescanning the media every hour. That was a for instance.

I don't have any plugins installed. There's no one using the NAS now, since it's not done yet, so it's not because it's accessing data.

Can i check somewhere what checks are being done reguraly?

joeschmuck

Old Man
Also, I would recommend running all your hard drives just so you can rule out infant mortality sooner than later.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Yes, look at what CRON jobs are running. There must be something that runs at 2 minutes after the hour. Are you running 9.2.1.2 or 9.2.0 ? If you are starting new then my personal recommendation is to use 9.2.0 only because there are some minor issues still with 9.2.1.2 that might turn you off.

joeschmuck

Old Man