Want to turn a desktop PC into a FreeNas Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

CuXe

Cadet
Hi All,

I a complete and total noob to FreeNas. I would like to re-purpose a desktop computer I have; and turn it into a FreeNas server so that I can stream videos to my roku using Plex. I have quite a few questions, I hope you can help me out.

Current Setup: I have a ton of 1GB+ videos stored in my Windows 8 laptop. I am currently streaming these videos to my roku via the PLEX media server (wirelessly). This is not efficient as my lappy's hard drive is only 500GB and I have to keep my "work" laptop always on.

Problem 1: This desktop is running windows 7 and I have some media files I want to keep. There is only 1 hard drive inside this desktop.

Problem 2: I want to keep this tower fully functional (for video streaming purposes) without having to connect a keyboard, mouse and monitor. I think windows won't boot unless certain peripherals are connected. I also thought about putting linux mint to dual boot but I don't know if I'll face the same issues due to peripherals not being connected.

Question 1: Will NAS run fine if I don't have peripherals attached?

Question 2: Can FreeNas dualboot with windows 7 so that I could still access the files I have on the windows 7 hard drive or will I be forced to install FreeNass in a new hard drive?

Scenario 1: If FreeNas can't dual boot and I have to install it in a clean hard drive, will I be able to access the files stored in the windows 7 hard drive once I plug it back into the desktop SATA connection? I would like to migrate the files from the windows 7 HD to the NAS HD.

Question 3: How do I transfer over 400GB worth of videos from my windows 8 lappy to my NAS desktop?

Question 4: Can I connect to my NAS remotely from my work computer or cellphone? (via teamviewer or any other remote connection apps)

Thank you in advance :)

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek