vm.kmem Size Error and Prefetch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yellowbeard

Dabbler
I have just built a machine for FreeNAS using an ASUS P5Q-E, Pentium 650, 6GB of RAM, and 4 x 2TB Hitachi 5K300s attached to the ICH10-R in AHCI mode. AFAIK, I have it set up correctly. ZFS-RAIDZ, I built the volume, created a share, enabled CIFS and it works but it's unstable. It keeps crashing with the errors shown in the attached picture.

I am a complete and total noob at this sort of thing even though I have been running FreeNAS since 2006. Any input on how I go about fixing this? I see the recomendations to tune the mem size but I have NO CLUE how or where to do that.

Also, prefetch is disabled. Is it beneficial to enable it?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Attachments

• FreeNAS Mem Size Error.jpg
    FreeNAS Mem Size Error.jpg
    78.8 KB · Views: 411

Yellowbeard

Dabbler
So far so good, Chris nailed it! I'll keep this thread updated if anything changes but I think we're good.

Thanks!

jenksdrummer

Patron
I had a similar problem with FreeNAS 7.3 using ZFS - it was considered experimental then, and it showed with errors like the one you posted. 8.0 is definately the right move...though some of the extra features of 7.3 haven't made it yet, they are being worked in! :)

esamett

Patron
+1. the 64 bit build is more robust for zfs and memory management - even for the same amount of ram. the only reason imho to use 32 bit build is if you are using a 32 bit cpu

NiceTry

Explorer
I'm having same problem with 3GHz Pentium 4 Prescott, 2GB RAM, ZFS RAIDZ, 4-1GB SATA drives. Will AMD version help here too?

ohnename

Explorer
Only if your P4 is 64bit.
If it is a socket 478 it is only 32bit, if it is a socket 775 you have to check exactly what modell you have, not all are supporting 64bit.

NiceTry

Explorer