Very low speed with small files

bohrz

Cadet
Hi, i just finished building a small home server with TrueNAS. I'm new to the whole subject, so I apologize in advance.

The parts I used are:
  • CPU: Core i3 10100
  • MB: Gigabyte H510M H
  • OS Drive: Kingston A400 240GB SSD
  • RAM: Crucial 16GB DDR4 2666MHz
  • Storage: 2x8TB Seagate Ironwolf mirrored
I work with Salesforce development, so it's basically a NodeJS project with lots of small files that a I need to transfer from my main PC to the server, also, I would like to edit from the server.

Now, I know my parts are low spec, also small files are a nightmare for speed, but I'm getting speeds below 1KB/s, is that normal?

What can I do to diagnose the problem or find bottlenecks?

homer27081990

Patron
No, it is not.
  • Can you try moving one large file?
  • Check your network configuration, cables, router, switches
  • Make sure you do not have any throttling on the array or the network
  • Try moving files between another (third) computer and TrueNAS, and then your PC
  • Check your RAM usage: [go to the shell and run top - If you have high RAM usage check swap partition
  • Make sure your boot drive is healthy (SMART, at the very least)
  • Check the health of the array drives
  • Run a scrub on the array

Last edited:

c77dk

Patron
You have a Realtek NIC on that board - those are cr**. Try putting in a Intel NIC.

But other than the nic, how are the datasets setup regarding sync?

bohrz

Cadet
Hi,
I made some file transfers from my desktop W10 PC. I copied a blu-ray file (~100GB), speeds were between 85 to 100 MB/s. Since the NAS and the PC have gigabit, it seems OK. I tried moving one of my projects, it wasn't fast, but it took less than 6 minutes for moving ~30K files (about 1GB), so I'm content with that.