Using a place holder to add a drive later on.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcrichter

Cadet
Ive been doing gobs of reading on all sorts of nas systems and my familiarity with linux is average for a networking guy, but when it comes to freenas im a complete noob.

My wants - Have a 20 sata drive storage array for storing movies, I would not fill this right away however. I would use a combination of sata controllers and sata multipliers for connectivity and supporting MB,proc and ram with a dedicated OS drive. Looking to use a ZFS storage system with as large of percentage of usable space as possible while still keeping with 2 drive failure redundancy. All systems accessing the NAS would need to see this as one large drive.
1. Data survivability - drive failure to the point of 2 drives could fail without loss
2. Replacement of smaller drives with larger drives - would like this to occur with system live but it could go down for this.
3. Addition of drives overtime
This is to handle mainly video storage for my home media system.

All of my wishes and then some I know can be met by freenas except the last.

Adding drives is the issue though - Ive seen some work a-rounds to this and the best i seem to find is the ability to add additional arrays to the overall pool - this however lessens the percentage of usable space.

MY big question - Is it possible to us some sort of "place holder" drive that could be later replaced with an actual drive connected to the sata bus of my system? This "place holder" could be a series of partitions, virtual drives, worst case even a number of usb drives.

THis is what im thinking - 1x 750gb, 2x 1TB, 1x 2TB and 1x 1TB split into 16 roughly 125 GB partitions. The 125GB partitions could then be replaced over time with a physical drive. essentially you would remove 1 125gb partition and add the new drive in its place.

I tried to find anything that eluded to this setup in the forums but to no avail.

Please help, Thanks!

Letni