USB Flash Drive mount Fails

Status
Not open for further replies.

silverdevil

Dabbler
Hi guys,

Freenas newbie here and I am at wit's end trying to do what seems to me the simplest of tasks: mounting a USB flash drive to import into a dataset. Here's my setup:

Hardware:
Supermicro Atom A1SAi-2750F motherboard (2x USB 2.0, 2x USB 3.0)
4x 3TB WD HDD
1x 128 GB SSD
1x 120 GB SSD
16GB of EEC ram

FreeNAS v9.3 Stable

Tunables:
xhci_load YES loader

Services (on):
CIFS
Rsync

User/Group Setup:
ntropy:L5 (see screenshot of permissions)

I have 2 pools set up:
1) gigaflare ( made up of 3x 3TB drives in RAID-Z2 for streaming media/unified file storage for the family)

2) megaflare (2x SSD for frequently accessed files in MIRROR)

No real data has been uploaded to the server, as I am still testing. I have created a few working CIFS testing shares such as:
mnt/megaflare/documents
mnt/megaflare/jails

So today I want to test out my methods before i go ahead and start importing my larger external drives, and i start to import disk a FAT32 4GB flash drive onto a new dataset at
"mnt/gigaflare/test"

I plug my flash drive into a USB 3.0 port on my freenas machine and goto import disks and start the process.
But after it appears to start up fine, it give me the message, "Import of Volume /dev/da1s1 Failed. Reason Import Process was Abruptly Terminated."

Why did this happen? this is killing me. I tried everything and feeling very hopeless because I thought I was good at windows, but moving to Freenas has been a very steep learning curve and very humbling. Please see relevant snapshots and output of /var/run/importcopy/vol_rsync_stats file

Thanks in advance.
Jerry

Attachments

• volumes.png
    volumes.png
    116.6 KB · Views: 292
  • testperm.png
    testperm.png
    27.3 KB · Views: 279
  • flashdrivewin.png
    flashdrivewin.png
    90.7 KB · Views: 295
  • user1.png
    user1.png
    63.4 KB · Views: 280
  • user2.png
    user2.png
    76.7 KB · Views: 313
  • import1.png