USB 3 or 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ghola

Cadet
Hi Guys

New to this but reading up on things last few days and forming my plans

Can you advise if it is better for me to buy a USB 3.0 PCI card for this little SFF PC (PDF Spec attached) I will be using for my Flashdrives or stick with the USb 2.0 on the back. i guess it it boils down internal bottlenecks BUT I am sure the 3.0 will be faster in a PCI-E slot, etc than a USB2 on the back

I have 8GB RAM & Plenty of HDDs ready and ordering a 32GB USB stick for Freenas Friday and a smaller one to install from. The Add on cards are so cheap

I work in the IT industry and get loads of these RP5700's all the time (5 spare at work atm!)

Thanks for your help
Steve

Attachments

• HPRP5700.pdf
    1,011.6 KB · Views: 560

diedrichg

Wizard
1. Go to the Hardware section and read the sticky regarding recommended hardware - ECC is a must for data integrity.

2. USB 3.0 is not enabled in FreeNAS, stick with (2) USB 2.0 name-brand USB thumb drives on the ports that are on the motherboard. Speed is not a factor. If you are building for clients, then go with a pair of SATADOMs with the intention of longevity for the boot devices.

Ghola

Cadet
thanks for the reply so good job I asked. Will stick that in my main PC then I guess:p

I cant afford ECC memory and this is just for home use, NAS/Media Streaming and such but thank you for the hint. I did read that bit of the docs but di not get as far as USB3;)

edit, just read also that the PCI am using cant use ECC RAM AFTER i find some cheap on Ebay, not so expensive after all

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
I suspect your experience with FreeNAS on this hardware will be poor. The hardware is far from the recommendations and not having ecc memory and supporting parts is a deal breaker in my book. Good luck and report back on if it works or not.

Ghola

Cadet