Unable to create new jails

Status
Not open for further replies.

siconic

Explorer
Hello everyone!

I have been using FreeNAS now for right around 2 years and love it. I have had very few issues, and the ones I have had, I have either been able to fix, or have seen the bug report and waited for the fix.

Now however, I have a jail problem that I needed to create a Bug Report for. Details on the problem, as well as logs, system stats, and things I have tried, are here: https://bugs.freenas.org/issues/16781

At this point, I cannot even update any of my jail softwares, such as plex, or create any new jails. So, As far as jails, I am pretty much dead in the water.

I know the team is busy, and the ticket is still in "Waiting on Response" status, even though I have responded and supplied lots of info. So instead of bothering them, I am still trying to work out the issue myself, and would like any suggestions you all may have.

I wouldn't mind totally recreating the jails, in the new version 10 bhyve. However, I am unsure of just how to do it, and the easiest way to backup all my jail data and recreate them, or if I even need to go that far.

Any help would be great!

Thanks,
Siconic

joeschmuck

Old Man
I wouldn't mess around with FreeNAS 10 unless you want to tinker a lot.

As for your issue, what version of FreeNAS are you running right now. How about some system specs too.

Have you done a search for this type of issue?
Here is what I came up with and I wouldn't be surprised if this is what you problem is related to:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...-jails-defaulting-to-new-jail-template.42486/

If you can, I'd delete your jails, delete the jails share, create a new jails share, create your new jails. This will force the download of the new standard-template and you should be fine after this. If you have a lot of jails, well you could try to roll back to FreeNAS 9.3.

siconic

Explorer