Unable to create folders using FTP(es)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Max-E

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNas and I've been playing with it for last couple of days. I've also watched a lot of how to videos but unfortunately I couldn't find the solution to my problem.

So I have an FTP using TLS and I works great internal and external. I can copy files to or from it. The only thing I can't do is create folders on it. I always get an error saying "Operation not permitted". I'm guessing I'm missing some settings but I can't find it...

I'm using FileZilla btw.

Does anyone have an idea on how to fix this?

Much appreciated,

Max

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I've run into this problem too. The problem is that Filezilla creates a directory and then does a "chmod" of the directory to set permissions. If the dataset or zpool you are putting FTP on is set for Windows ACLs then chmod will be broken and you'll get an error on Filezilla. The fixes I can think of:

1. Don't use Filezilla.

2. Don't put your FTP server on a dataset that is setup for Windows ACLs.

Max-E

Cadet
I've run into this problem too. The problem is that Filezilla creates a directory and then does a "chmod" of the directory to set permissions. If the dataset or zpool you are putting FTP on is set for Windows ACLs then chmod will be broken and you'll get an error on Filezilla. The fixes I can think of:

1. Don't use Filezilla.

2. Don't put your FTP server on a dataset that is setup for Windows ACLs.

Hi,

Thank you for your answer, I took a look at the dataset permissions and it's setup for UNIX , Owner has Read Write Execute, Same thing for GROUP, Other has Read and Execute, One thing I noticed whenever I give the write permission to other and press save and then open the menu again then other has "lost" its write permission. Is this normal behavior?

I've also tried to change the permission type from UNIX to Mac and even Windows but that all makes no difference :(.