Help to setup FTP

Status
Not open for further replies.

QRikard

Cadet
Hi

I have spent all day trying to set up an FTP server on my FreeNAS without success. I would really appreciate some help, i'm a beginner to FTP and networks so please start with the simple problems and explain in detail when possible.

In short my goal is to share many/large files in a simple way with a group of (non technical) people without exposing the rest of my personal files or creating security holes to my server or local network, the security of the shared FTP folder is not as critical (private but non-sensitive files). So i'm open to suggestions for something else than FTP if it makes my life easier and solves the task.
Also tried to use the routers own FTP solution without any success (managed to create local connection).

Some progress i managed to connect to the FTP locally using anonymous authentication but never using my own or the new FTPuser account. I'm using filezilla for the connection but have also tried FireFTP (no difference).
Hostname freenas.local
Build FreeNAS-9.2.1.5-RELEASE-x64 (80c1d35)
I know version is starting to get old but it's been stable so far hence no reason to upgrade.

My computer and server are on the same local network, both with fixed IP addresses set by the router (Asus AC66u with Merlin installed).
I think i have set up port forwarding correctly in the router and set up the dynamic DNS (using no-ip.com). More on that later if i understand it correctly it's better/easier to get the FTP to work properly locally first so lets start there.

This is the error message i get from filezilla when connecting to the freenas local ip address:
Status: Connecting to "local server ip address":"server ftp port number"
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Command: USER FTPuser
Response: 331 Password required for FTPuser
Command: PASS ******
Response: 530 Login incorrect.
Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server