Tips and Advice on new FreeNAS install

Status
Not open for further replies.

verinas

Dabbler
Hi There.

As this is my first time using FreeNAS and I’m currently waiting for RAM to arrive for my Proliant before setting everything up. I was hoping some of the experienced FreeNAS people may be able to take a quick look at what I’m setting out to achieve here and offer any tips. For example, if it’s clear based on what I’m trying to achieve that Jails is the way to go over plugins then that’s great to know from the start. I just want to avoid any pitfalls.

Background (skip if you want): I’ve recently purchased a HP Proliant G8 Microserver. Currently, I have a Buffalo NAS and a separate HTPC. My goal with the Proliant was to consolidate the two physical devices into one nice package and reduce clutter/heat/etc. Unfortunately, soon after spinning up the device I discovered the RAID controller doesn’t have on-board memory so I can’t run RAID 5 using the installed RAID controller. I’m already stretched for storage so losing two disks of usable space wasn’t an option. So coupled with the unfriendly HP UI and need to buy a licence just to access the device remotely from m phone I started looking for an alternative - that’s where I stumbled across FreeNAS and it looks great.

OLD Setup:
-Sonarrr, uTorrent, SABNZBD+
-MySQL is running on the Buffalo NAS (Runs a central Kodi database to synchronise playlists across all my TVs/Devices)
-The existing NAS isn’t raided. I have 4 separate drives mapped to the PC over the network. The major annoyance with this is whenever I try to delete many GB of files now it takes quite a while to complete; when the drives, were in the PC it took a few seconds in most cases it was almost instant.
-I use a number of RasberryPi’s running Kodi to view the content on my TVs. They all use a shared database so that TV show completion and pause data is synced across all my devices.